Stop the Hate for Cait!!

nrm_1433254410-caitlyn-jenner-vanity-fair-pictures-13  So I want to start this article off by saying that I am not a fan of Caitlyn Jenner. I am not a fan of her for my own personal reasons and beliefs.

Since Caitlyn has come out as transgender and began living her life she has received a lot of bad publicity via social media with misgendering memes and poor taste jokes.  While I greatly expected that, what I did not expect was that a majority of that outrage would come from the transgender community.  I have quite a few things to say about that and not all of it is negative but a majority of it is.

I first want to say I understand the discomfort with her publicly noted transition and the frustration of her new found accolades since she has transitioned What I don’t understand wards she has received over the time since she has become Caitlyn. What I do not understand, is how you could be so cruel to one of your own?

I’ve heard so many trans woman of color and not of color say that “Bruce isn’t transgender”, “He doesn’t deserve any of that, what is he doing that none of us are?” or even plain and simple “FUCK BRUCE”.  Do you ladies hear yourself? You sound like the same people who put us down, putting down someone who isn’t educated on the underlying issues we face. Our truths are not hers and her truths are not ours.  I do not like what media and these awards are portraying but what I’m not doing is bashing, misgendering and verbally attacking her for just existing.

We must not turn into the same people who wish harm on us.  You do not have to stand in solidarity with Caitlyn but it makes sense to not come against her with those who stand against us.  I urge you all to reconsider your way of thinking when it comes to Caitlyn Jenner and keep in mind tearing her down, tears down the few strides trans have made in this country.  We are in a state of epic loss and we cannot afford to turn our backs on a single trans soul…including Caitlyn Jenner.

 

-Aria Lynn Copeland

Editor-in-Chief


One thought on “Stop the Hate for Cait!!

Leave a comment